Virginia Woolf Collection, The

View Purchase Options icon

Virginia Woolf Collection, The

Virginia Woolf Collection, The

By: Virginia Woolf

Sample not available


Four groundbreaking author.

Mrs Dalloway (1925)

One day; two lives. Mrs Dalloway prepares for a party, whilst a First World War veteran treads the same streets. Follow 24 hours in the lives of two extraordinary people, each of them recovering from the First World War. A hostess and a soldier come the most unexpected of ways. Kristin Scott Thomas performs.

To the Lighthouse (1927)

A family's summer holidays see them return to the Isle of Skye over days and years, sailing boats and enduring wars. As we follow the slow unfolding of the Ramsays' fortunes, both children and adults grow, love, lose. Listed as one of the best novels of the 20th century. Jessie Buckley performs.

A Room of One's Own (1929)

Based on a series of lectures to women's colleges, this collection of essays first published in 1929 explores a female's need to have space to create, exist...survive. A must-listen for anyone exploring the roots of feminism - or simply what it is to be a woman. A provocative and pervasive listen that remains relevant to listeners of any age. Tilda Swinton performs.

The Waves (1931)

A dreamscape novel that follows six characters united by a single friend. Set against a stunning English coastal landscape, the novel dares to be one of Woolf's most inventive narratives as it explores the journey from childhood to adulthood and beyond that - death, and all that we may learn. Vanessa Kirby, Adetomiwa Edun, Andrea Riseborough, Tracy Ifeachor, Samuel Barnett, Johnny Flynn and Juliet Stevenson perform.